• La Crimson Femme

Review: Nothing but Ink by Carrie Ann Ryan


★★★ ½ @CarrieAnnRyan #NothingbutInk @jennw23

Sampling Ms. Ryan's contemporary and her paranormal romance, I am going to say that I favour her contemporary romance. This is my first book in this series and it can be read as a standalone. Warning, reading this book may cause a reader to pick up all the previous books in this series. I know I will be picking them out. For readers who love Lexi Blake or Maya Bank's series with families and friends featured in each book, you will love this one.


This short and sweet novella features a single dad, Clay Hollins, and a sexy bartender, Riggs Kennedy. What I enjoyed about this story is the realities of being a single parent. Clay may not have given birth to his adorable 3 kids, but he is clearly their loving parent. It is hard to raise one child, let alone 3. Clay's job is demanding and when a kid crisis occurs, all hell can break loose. Ms. Ryan writes with a compassionate heart showcasing the trials and tribulations when a child ends up in the hospital. Without family and a strong support system, it is impossible. Adding dating to this mix can be crazy.


Yet Ms. Ryan sets up a wonderful and thoughtful sexy romance between Clay and Riggs. I loved how they came together. I especially loved how the family and friends rallied around them. This is a heartwarming romance that tugs at the heart. This feel-good romance is recommended to readers who love a happily ever after with a ready-made family.

* I voluntarily reviewed an ARC of this book.